Abandoned in the late 1930's, Kennicott's red buildings are still scattered along the mountainside overlooking the Kennicott Glacier, Root Glacier and Mt. Blackburn, making it a picturesque location that photographers drool over
McCarthy bloomed as the service town for Kennicott. Hotels, stores, pool halls and other "entertainment"made up the bustling Alaskan town. At its peak, McCarthy had around 500 buildings of which a handful still remain. When Kennicott ceased operation and the last train left in 1938, McCarthy slowly died. The area is now home to approximately 25 - 30 year round residents and has become a popular destination for many travelers from around the world.
The McCarthy Road has become the main entranceto the Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and the only road access to McCarthy and Kennicott. This 60 mile dirt road follows the old railroad bed that linked Kennicott with Cordova. The McCarthy Road ends at the Kennicott River where a footbridge allows access to McCarthy and Kennicott. Shuttle service is available from the footbridge to town and between McCarthy and Kennicott.
McCarthy has several options for overnight accomodations, a lodge, a few restaurants including The Potato(an eatery/espresso stand), Tailor Made Pizza, a bar, gift shop, flight seeing services, a museum and a guiding company now make up "downtown" McCarthy Alaska.